Celebrate President’s Day with Children’s Illustrator/Author Bryan Collier

Lincoln and Douglass: An American Friendship

 

Meet Caldecott-Honor and Corretta Scott King Award-winning author/illustrator Bryan Collier, whose books about heroes like Lincoln, Douglass, Martin Luther King Jr and more have inspired a generation.

 

February 17, 2014| 2:00 PM

Barnes & Noble Booksellers
1245 Route 300 (Union Ave)
Newburgh, NY 12550
845-567-0782

 

Advertisements

Rosie Perez Signing Copies of “Handbook for an Unpredictable Life”

At the age of three, Rosie’s life was turned upside down when her mentally ill mother tore her away from the only family she knew and placed her in a Catholic children’s home in New York’s Westchester County. Thus began her crazily discombobulated childhood of being shuttled between “the Home,” where she and other kids suffered all manners of cruelty from nuns, and various relatives’ apartments in Brooklyn.

Many in her circumstances would have been defined by these harrowing experiences, but with the intense determination that became her trademark, Rosie overcame the odds and made an incredible life for herself. She brings her journey vividly to life on each page of this memoir—from the vibrant streets of Brooklyn to her turbulent years in the Catholic home, and finally to film and TV sets and the LA and New York City hip-hop scenes of the 1980s and ‘90s.

More than a page-turning read, Handbook for an Unpredictable Life is a story of survival. By turns heartbreaking and funny, it is ultimately the inspirational story of a woman who has found a hard-won place of strength and peace.

Listen

Appearances
March 3, 2014|  7:00 PM| The Strand Bookstore 828 Broadway| New York, NY 10003-4805

Tony Dungy Signing Copies of “Uncommon Marriage”

What does it take to build a marriage that will last? Tony and Lauren Dungy have together known the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. They fell in love, built a family, and made sports history when Tony became the first African American head coach to win the Super Bowl. Yet they’ve also gone through difficult, relationship-testing setbacks, including job loss and devastating personal tragedy. In a culture where it seems harder and harder to make marriage last, what has kept the Dungys strong through it all?

In Uncommon Marriage, Tony and Lauren share the secrets that hold them together, revealing what they’ve learned so far about being a good husband or wife; getting through times of loss, grief, or change; staying connected despite busy schedules; supporting each other’s dreams and goals; and helping each other grow spiritually. They offer encouragement and practical advice to equip your marriage to survive tough issues and flourish with joy, purpose, and partnership—in other words, to be a marriage that is truly uncommon.

Appearances

February 4, 2014| 7:00 PM at BookEnds – East Ridgewood Avenue. Ridgewood, NJ.
February 7, 2014| 12:00 PM| 11802 N. Dale Mabry Highway| Tampa, FL 33618| 813-962-6446
February 28, 2014| 7:00 PM at Barnes & Noble| Briargate Blvd. Colorado Springs, CO.

Written Magazine’s Wine and Words: Authors Imani and Maasi Smith

Written Magazine

in partnership with

Hammonds House Museum

present

Emerging Writers Imani and Maasi Smith

Please join us in celebration of two emerging writers from unique spectrums of fiction.

Thursday, February 6, 2014 from 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM

503 Peeples Street, Atlanta, Georgia, 30310

www.hammondshouse.org

Imani has penned, When I was broken, a relationship book that challenges what we consider true love in the wake of vows and challenges the reader to answer “How far would you go for love?”

Maasi Smith steps into the dark side with Mischiefmakers, a horror story that will terrify you, but entice you to keep reading

until the bitter end.

MM

This event will include light food fare and wine, a discussion with our authors and a book signing.

This event is free with the purchase of either book

$5 without the purchase of the book

Free to Hammonds House Members

Books will be available for purchase at the event

The Black Power Mixtape 1967 – 1975 Docuemntary to Become a Book

The Black Power Mixtape 1967 – 1975, is being converted into book format. It will include historical speeches and interviews by Stokely Carmichael (Kwame Ture), Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Eldridge Cleaver, Bobby Seale, Huey P. Newton, Emile de Antonio, and Angela Davis.  The book will also include additional contributions by Erykah Badu, Talib Kweli, Harry Belafonte, Kathleen Cleaver, Robin Kelley, Abiodun Oyewole, Sonia Sanchez, John Forte, and Questlove.

The Black Power Mixtape 1967–1975 is an extraordinary window into the black freedom struggle in the United States, offering a treasure trove of fresh archival information about the Black Power movement from 1967 to 1975 and vivid portraits of some of its most dynamic participants.

I’m truly interested in reading what Ms. Cleaver has to say.  I’ve had the great pleasure of working with her on a project in the past. The book is scheduled to be released February 4.

Watch the trailer here.  Pre-Order here.

Hat tip to the folks over at Shadow and Act for the info.

 

 

 

Black Comic Book Festival 2014

The Schomburg Center’s 2nd Annual Black Comic Book Festival celebrates the rich tradition of black comix in a two-day event featuring a special events, panel discussions, film screenings, hands-on workshops and exhibit tables with premiere black comic artists from across the country.  Admission is free for the public and registration is encouraged here and here.

Friday, January 17, 2014

CLICK HERE TO RSVP FOR FRIDAY EVENING

5:30 pm

Networking Reception: “Putting the Unity Back In Community”

Social gathering for black comics community with light refreshments.

7 pm

Public Conversation: “Milestone and Brotherman: A Celebration of Both”

Moderated by Jonathan Gayles with special guests

 

Saturday, January 18, 2014

CLICK HERE TO RSVP FOR SATURDAY

Main Floor:

12 – 5 pm

Exhibit Tables from 40 Comic Book Artists and Writers*

*List of Featured Artists TBA

Langston Hughes Auditorium:

12:45 pm

Panel: “Superheroes Beyond the Comic Book” with David Walker (Super Justice Force); Jerry, Jaylen and Aren Craft (The Offenders); and Kia Barbee (Evolve the Series)

2:15 pm

Panel: “Black Women in Comics”

Moderated by Regine Sawyer with Barbara Brandon, Alitha Martinez, Jennifer Crute, and Jewels Smith.

3:45 pm

Panel and Q&A: “Self-Publishing” with John Jennings (SUNY Buffalo/Black Kirby) and Jerry Craft (Mama’s Boys)

American Negro Theater:

12 pm

Short Films and Cartoons*

1:30 pm

Youth Workshop: “Creating Your Own Comic Books” with Alex Simmons

2:30 pm

Workshop: “Collecting Comic Books”

3:15 pm

Short Films and Cartoons*

* Full list of screenings available at the event.

 

The Schomburg Center’s Black Comic Book Festival  is presented by the Junior Scholars Program in collaboration with Jerry Craft (Mama’s Boyz), John Jennings (SUNY Buffalo/Black Kirby) and Jonathan Gayles (Georgia State University).

 

For media inquiries, email adenikeolanrewaju@nypl.org

For additional information, email schomburged@nypl.org

Stay connected with SCHOMBURG EDUCATION!

Facebook: www.facebook.com/schomburgeducation

Twitter: @SchomburgEd

Email:  schomburged@nypl.org

Web:  www.schomburgcenter.org/education

*UPDATED* Worth the Read: New Releases for January 2014

Black Stats: African Americans by the Numbers in the Twenty-first CenturyBlack Stats—a comprehensive guide filled with contemporary facts and figures on African Americans—is an essential reference for anyone attempting to fathom the complex state of our nation. With fascinating and often surprising information on everything from incarceration rates, lending practices, and the arts to marriage, voting habits, and green jobs, the contextualized material in this book will better attune readers to telling trends while challenging commonly held, yet often misguided, perceptions.

A compilation that at once highlights measures of incredible progress and enumerates the disparate impacts of social policies and practices, this book is a critical tool for advocates, educators, and policy makers. Black Stats offers indispensable information that is sure to enlighten discussions and provoke debates about the quality of Black life in the United States today—and help chart the path to a better future.  Get your copy here.

 

 

I'll Take You There: Mavis Staples, the Staple Singers, and the March up Freedom's Highway

This is the untold story of living legend Mavis Staples—lead singer of the Staple Singers and a major figure in the music that shaped the civil rights era. Now in her seventies, Mavis has been a fixture in the music world for decades. One of the most enduring artists of popular music, she and her family fused gospel, soul, folk, and rock to transcend racism and oppression through song. Honing her prodigious talent on the Southern gospel circuit of the 1950s, Mavis and the Staple Singers went on to sell more than 30 million records, with message-oriented soul music that became a sound track to the civil rights movement—inspiring Martin Luther King Jr. himself.

Critically acclaimed biographer and Chicago Tribune music critic Greg Kot cuts to the heart of Mavis Staples’s music, revealing the intimate stories of her sixty-year career. From her love affair with Bob Dylan, to her creative collaborations with Prince, to her recent revival alongside Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, this definitive account shows Mavis as you’ve never seen her before. I’ll Take You There was written with the complete cooperation of Mavis and her family. Readers will also hear from Prince, Bonnie Raitt, David Byrne, Marty Stuart, Ry Cooder, Steve Cropper, and many other individuals whose lives have been influenced by Mavis’s talent.

 

Fake ID

Debut author Lamar Giles takes readers on a wild and dark ride in this contemporary Witness Protection thriller. Fake ID is a compelling story full of twists and turns—sure to appeal to fans of James Patterson, Harlan Coben, and John Grisham.

Nick Pearson is hiding in plain sight. In fact, his name isn’t really Nick Pearson. He shouldn’t tell you his real name, his real hometown, or why his family just moved to Stepton, Virginia. And he definitely shouldn’t tell you about his friend Eli Cruz and the major conspiracy Eli was uncovering when he died. About how Nick had to choose between solving Eli’s murder with his hot sister, Reya, and “staying low-key” like the Program said to do.

But he’s going to tell you—unless he gets caught first. . . .

(This is a Young Adult novel, ages 13-17)

 

 

The Blossoming Universe of Violet Diamond

Violet is a smart, funny, brown-eyed, brown-haired girl in a family of blonds. Her mom is white, and her dad, who died before she was born, was black. She attends a mostly white school where she sometimes feels like a brown leaf on a pile of snow. She’s tired of people asking if she’s adopted. Now that Violet’s eleven, she decides it’s time to learn about her African American heritage. And despite getting off to a rocky start trying to reclaim her dad’s side of the family, she can feel her confidence growing as the puzzle pieces of her life finally start coming together. Readers will cheer for Violet, sharing her joy as she discovers her roots.

Get your copy here.

(This is a pre-teen book, ages  8-12 years)