BookExpo America 2017 May 31-June 2, 2017

Image result for book expo america


BookExpo provides a focused professional environment to discover emerging authors and the next blockbuster titles, engage with the world’s most influential publishers and learn from industry leaders and peers.

BookExpo culminates with BookCon, our two day Fan event where storytelling and pop culture collide.


2017 Author Breakfasts

Thursday, June 1 | Kenya Barris (Author: This is Basic Shit) and Jesmyn Ward (Author: Sing, Unburied, Sing)

Friday, June 2 | Jason Reynolds (Author: Miles Morales (A Spider-Man Novel), Long way Down)


Featured Guests

Terry McMillan




Ruth’s Journey: The Authorized Novel of Mammy from Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind

Ruth's Journey: The Authorized Novel of Mammy from Margaret Mitchell's Gone with the Wind


Authorized by the Margaret Mitchell Estate, here is the first-ever prequel to one of the most beloved and bestselling novels of all time, Gone with the Wind. The critically acclaimed author of Rhett Butler’s People magnificently recounts the life of Mammy, one of literature’s greatest supporting characters, from her days as a slave girl to the outbreak of the Civil War.

“Her story began with a miracle.” On the Caribbean island of Saint Domingue, an island consumed by the flames of revolution, a senseless attack leaves only one survivor—an infant girl. She falls into the hands of two French émigrés, Henri and Solange Fournier, who take the beautiful child they call Ruth to the bustling American city of Savannah.

What follows is the sweeping tale of Ruth’s life as shaped by her strong-willed mistress and other larger-than-life personalities she encounters in the South: Jehu Glen, a free black man with whom Ruth falls madly in love; the shabbily genteel family that first hires Ruth as Mammy; Solange’s daughter Ellen and the rough Irishman, Gerald O’Hara, whom Ellen chooses to marry; the Butler family of Charleston and their shocking connection to Mammy Ruth; and finally Scarlett O’Hara—the irrepressible Southern belle Mammy raises from birth. As we witness the difficult coming of age felt by three generations of women, gifted storyteller Donald McCaig reveals a portrait of Mammy that is both nuanced and poignant, at once a proud woman and a captive, and a strict disciplinarian who has never experienced freedom herself. But despite the cruelties of a world that has decreed her a slave, Mammy endures, a rock in the river of time. She loves with a ferocity that would astonish those around her if they knew it. And she holds tight even to those who have been lost in the ravages of her days.

Set against the backdrop of the South from the 1820s until the dawn of the Civil War, here is a remarkable story of fortitude, heartbreak, and indomitable will—and a tale that will forever illuminate your reading of Margaret Mitchell’s unforgettable classic, Gone with the Wind.




October 14, 2014| 5:30 PM| 404 E Main St Charlottesville, VA 22902

October 15, 2014| 12:00 PM| 3522 Wade Ave Raleigh, NC 27607

October 15, 2014| 6:30 PM| 220 Market Street, Pittsboro, NC 27312

October 16, 2014| 7:00 PM| 6718 Charlotte Pike, Nashville, TN

October 17, 2014| 7:00 PM| Margaret Mitchell House| Atlanta, GA

October 22, 2014| 7:00 PM| 2289 Broadway at 82nd St., NY, N.Y.

2014 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction Shortlist Announced


The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the six books shortlisted for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awarded for the previous year’s best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. As part of an announcement and medal presentation event at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas in June, each winning author will receive $5,000 and the four finalists will each receive $1,500.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, (Published by Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House, Inc.) and Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat, (Published by Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House, Inc.) are both recipients.

The awards, established in 2012, recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year and serve as a guide to help adults select high-quality reading material. They are the first single-book awards for adult books given by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. Nancy Pearl, librarian, literature expert, NPR commentator, and best-selling author of Book Lust, serves as chair of the awards’ selection committee.

The awards are made possible by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York in recognition of Andrew Carnegie’s deep belief in the power of books and learning to change the world, and are cosponsored by ALA’s Booklist and the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).

Annotations and more information on the finalists and the awards can be found at

Congressman John Lewis at the American Library Association Annual Conference

Congressman John Lewis has been making the rounds lately promoting literacy and his new graphic novel, MARCH, due out later this year.  In the midst of a publicity whirlwind, he found time to speak at the ALA Annual Conference, held in Chicago this year.

As a certified and licensed librarian (yes, you have to have a degree AND a license to be a librarian), I’ve been kicking myself for missing such an awesome event, but sadly, my fund were short and I couldn’t go. *lone tear falls down right cheek*

But, through following the hash tags on Twitter, Facebook updates, and YouTube videos, it almost feels like I was there…almost.  May I should do a crowd-funding campaign to help raise funds for me to go next year. Hmmm…

Anyway, check out Congressman Lewis’ speech below.