Book Con 2017

 

Image result for book con

 

BookCon is another awesome event by ReedPOP. ReedPOP also runs BookExpo, New York Comic Con, Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo, Emerald City Comicon, Star Wars Celebration, Penny Arcade Expo and more.  As much as we’d like to have BookCon in Belle’s library, BookCon is held at the Javits Center in Midtown Manhattan. The Javits Center is located at 655 West 34th Street.

Purchase tickets here.

Featured Authors

Daniel Jose Older (Shadowshaper)

Danielle Paige (Dorothy Must Die series)

Jason Reynolds (Miles Morales (a Spider-Man Novel)

Jenny Han (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before)

Kwame Alexander (The Crossover)

Nicola Yoon (Everything, Everything)

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Kwame Alexander Signing Copies of “The Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called Life”

plybook

You gotta know the rules to play the game. Ball is life. Take it to the hoop. Soar. What can we imagine for our lives? What if we were the star players, moving and grooving through the game of life? What if we had our own rules of the game to help us get what we want, what we aspire to, what will enrich our lives?

Illustrated with photographs by Thai Neave, The Playbook is intended to provide inspiration on the court of life. Each rule contains wisdom from inspiring athletes and role models such as Nelson Mandela, Serena Williams, LeBron James, Carli Lloyd, Steph Curry and Michelle Obama. Kwame Alexander also provides his own poetic and uplifting words, as he shares stories of overcoming obstacles and winning games in this motivational and inspirational book just right for graduates of any age and anyone needing a little encouragement.

 

Appearances

February 15, 2017 |6:30 PM 12193 Fair Lakes Promenade Dr| Fairfax, VA

#WorthTheRead: New Releases for November

Sparks will fly in this hip-hop-hot teen novel that mixes social protest and star-crossed romance! He Said, She Said is perfect for fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rachel Vail alike. The paperback edition includes a Q&A with author Kwame Alexander.

He says: Omar “T-Diddy” Smalls has got it made—a full football ride to U Miami, hero-worship status at school, and pick of any girl at West Charleston High.

She says: Football, shmootball. Here’s what Claudia Clarke cares about: Harvard, the poor, the disenfranchised, the hungry, the staggering teen pregnancy rate, investigative journalism . . . the list goes on. She does not have a minute to waste on Mr. T-Diddy Smalls and his harem of bimbos.

He Said, She Said is a fun and fresh novel from Kwame Alexander that throws these two high-school seniors together when they unexpectedly end up leading the biggest social protest this side of the Mississippi—with a lot of help from Facebook and Twitter.

The stakes are high, the romance is hot, and when these worlds collide, watch out!

 

On the tenth anniversary of his death, The Dirty Version is the first biography of hip hop superstar and founding member of the Wu-Tang Clan, Ol’ Dirty Bastard, to be written by someone from his inner circle: his right-hand man and best friend, Buddha Monk.

Ol’ Dirty Bastard rocketed to fame with the Wu-Tang Clan, the raucous and renegade group that altered the world of hip hop forever. ODB was one of the Clan’s wildest icons and most inventive performers, and when he died of an overdose in 2004 at the age of thirty-five, millions of fans mourned the loss. ODB lives on in epic proportions and his antics are legend: he once picked up his welfare check in a limousine; lifted a burning car off a four-year-old girl in Brooklyn; stole a fifty-dollar pair of sneakers on tour at the peak of his success. Many have questioned whether his stunts were carefully calculated or the result of paranoia and mental instability.

Now, Dirty’s friend since childhood, Buddha Monk, a Wu-Tang collaborator on stage and in the studio, reveals the truth about the complex and talented performer. From their days together on the streets of Brooklyn to the meteoric rise of Wu-Tang’s star, from bouts in prison to court-mandated rehab, from Dirty’s favorite kind of pizza to his struggles with fame and success, Buddha tells the real story—The Dirty Version—of the legendary rapper.

 

NOT FINAL COVER

NOT FINAL COVER

In the tradition of the New York Times bestselling I Dream a World and Crowns comes this full-color companion volume to the acclaimed NAACP Award–nominee documentary Dark Girls—an inspiring and breathtaking photo book that celebrates dark-skinned women.

Black has never been more beautiful, witnessed by this magnificent collection featuring accomplished dark skinned-women from all walks of life. In Dark Girls, celebrities such as Lupita Nyong’o, Pauletta Washington (Denzel Washington’s wife), Cicely Tyson, Judge Mablean, Brandi and Karli Harvey, and twenty other outstanding women share intimate insights into what their dark skin means to them.

Filled with seventy-five gorgeous photographs, this thoughtful, sophisticated, alluring, and uplifting collection captures the elegance of dark skin—joyfully showcasing that we truly are beautiful for who we are.